SEC Week 11 Wrap Up: Gators, Tide Clinch; Aggies Add to Resume

by | Dec 6, 2020 | College Football | 0 comments

An exciting Saturday of college football secured the anticipated matchup for the SEC Championship Game on December 19th.

Florida (SEC East) and Alabama (SEC West) clinched their 13th division titles each, clearing the way for their 10th meeting in the SEC Championship Game.

Most Division Titles Won
SEC Since 1992
Division TitlesSEC Championships

The Gators defeated Tennessee 31-19, as Kyle Trask threw for 433 yards and 4 TD. He leads the NCAA with 38 passing TD. Only Colt Brennan in 2006 (NCAA officially started sorting records in 2000) threw for more in his teams first nine games (39).

Most TD Passes, First 9 Games
CFB Since 2000
Colt Brennan, Hawaii2006393,347
Kyle Trask, Florida2020383,243
B.J. Symons, Texas Tech2003374,313
Graham Harrell, Texas Tech2007353,979

Trevon Grimes two TD catches helped Kyle Trask reach 38 TD passes for the season. Florida clinched the SEC East with a 31-19 win over Tennessee, their 15th win in last 16 games vs the Vols.

The Crimson Tide defeated LSU 55-17. Mac Jones completed 20-28 attempts for 385 yards and 4 TD, helping keep pace with Kyle Trask for the Heisman Trophy. DeVonta Smith registered another magnificent game, recording eight catches for 231 yards and 3 TD.

Most TD Receptions
Single Season, Team History
TD Season
Amari Cooper162014
DeVonta Smith 152020
DeVonta Smith 142019
Jerry Jeudy 142018

Alabama finished with 650 total yards, the seventh most recorded in team history (second-highest this season – 723 at Ole Miss). Their offense totaled at least 500 yards for the 32nd time in 49 games (the seventh time recording 600 yards over that span). Alabama’s offense scored 35 points or more in their 22nd straight game, adding to their NCAA record. Smith’s TD receptions of 66 and 61 yards marked the 60th and 61st TD of 30 yards or more from scrimmage since 2018.

Najee Harris ran for 145 yards and three TD against LSU

Alabama QB Through 9 Games
Since 2018
Mac JonesTua TagovailoaTua Tagovailoa
Passing Yds3,1132,8402,361
Passing Yds PG345.9315.6262.3
Comp. Pct.75.771.467

Nick Saban won his 10th division title in the SEC, including his eighth at Alabama. Saban’s teams are 8-1 in his previous nine SEC Championship Game appearances and currently owns a six-game win streak.

Most Division Titles Won
Head Coaches, SEC
Nick Saban>>10
Steve Spurrier8
Philip Fulmer5
Mark Richt5
>>LSU (2), Alabama (8)

Texas A&M won their sixth consecutive game, improving to 7-1 on the season. The SEC rescheduled the Aggies matchups hosting Ole Miss (December 12th) and at Tennessee (December 19th), helping complete a full 10-game schedule.

Kellen Mond ran and threw for a TD for the 17th time in his career at Texas A&M, helping the Aggies defeat Auburn. 31-20.

Here are the rest of the teams remaining schedules.

SEC Remaining Schedule
2020 Season
Florida8-1vs LSU (3-5)vs Alabama>>
Georgia6-2at Missouri (5-3)vs Vanderbilt (0-8)
Missouri5-3vs Georgia (6-2)at Mississippi St. (2-6)
Tennessee2-6at Vanderbilt (0-8)vs Texas A&M (7-1)
South Carolina2-8
Vanderbilt0-8vs Tennessee (2-6)at Georgia (6-2)
>>SEC Championship Game

Alabama9-0at Arkansasvs Florida>>
Texas A&M7-1vs Ole Miss (4-4)at Tennessee (2-6)
Auburn5-4at Mississippi St. (2-6)
Ole Miss4-4at Texas A&M (7-1)at LSU (3-5)
LSU3-5at Florida (8-1)vs Ole Miss (4-4)
Arkansas3-6vs Alabama (9-0)
Mississippi St.2-6vs Auburn (5-4)vs Missouri (5-3)
>>SEC Championship Game

+ posts


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *